What are Information Analysis Centers Multiple Award Contracts?

The IAC multiple award contracts (MAC) are indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contracts for research and development (R&D) and/or advisory & assistance services related to R&D efforts. The IAC Program has three MACs with different scope areas:

Cyber Security and Information Systems (CS) contract is dedicated to the following focus areas: information assurance, software data & analysis, knowledge management and information sharing, and modeling and simulation. Previously, the SNIM, DACS, IATAC and MSIAC IACs operated in the CS technical domain areas.

Defense Systems (DS) contract is dedicated to the following focus areas: weapons systems; survivability; vulnerability; advance materials; autonomous systems; non-lethal weapons; information operations; reliability, maintainability, quality, supportability, energetics,:military sensing and directed energy. Previously, the AMMTIAC, CPIAC, RIAC, SENSIAC, SURVIAC, and WSTIAC IACs operated in the DS technical domain areas.

Homeland Defense (HD) contract is dedicated to the following focus areas: homeland security and defense; weapons of mass destruction; alternative energy; critical infrastructure protection; medical; cultural studies; chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear defense and biometrics. Previously, the CBRNIAC (and some areas of the SURVIAC) operated in the HD technical domain areas.

To learn more about each contract including available contractors, available services, contract ceilings, customer shared direct costs, etc., please click the links to the contract characteristics charts.

What are Technical Area Tasks?

Technical Area Tasks (TAT) are task orders that require a level of effort that exceeds the limits of a core analysis task (CAT), either in cost or time. TATs provide valuable analysis and R&D solutions to tough cyber security, homeland defense, and defense system problems.

TATs create new scientific and technical information (STI), which is added to the appropriate IAC repository making it readily available to the scientific community. This allows the STI to be researched and reused by others in the community saving federal resources by avoiding redundancies and fiscal waste.

TATs are flexible and can vary from one to five years. Costs may vary from a few thousand to several million dollars. TATs may be ordered by DoD components, other government agencies, industry and academia.

How to Get Started

All customers who wish to use IAC MACs must submit a requirements package. The IAC Program Management Office has a dedicated Customer Support Cell (CSC) to help the requiring activity (RA) through the entire process of requirements package development and submission. Please contact the CSC via email at to assist in putting together the requirements package.

The CSC team member will follow up directly to discuss individual requirements, help navigate the process described in the Ordering Guide, and perform a walk-through of the following templates contained in the requirements package:

How Long Does it Take to Make an Award?

Typically, a TAT valued at less than $50 million will take six months from identification of the requirement to award. This is the average award time and may vary depending on several variables, e.g., complexity of the requirement, user responsiveness, overall case load, etc.

mac flowchart

Severable vs. Non-Severable Services

IAC TATs predominantly are for severable services; therefore they may be incrementally funded. Severable services are recurring or continuing in nature, such as research performed on a level of effort basis. In contrast, a non-severable effort is one that requires the contractor to complete and deliver a single specified end-product or deliverable. A non-severable delivery order must be fully funded at the time of award and cannot be incrementally funded.